Didn’t think I’d have to blog on this thing ever again

I’ll be brief.  If you’re on this site, you may have been linked to it from another blog.  I’ll spare you the details, but I will give you an update on my life.  I’m now a reporter/weekend anchor at a television station in Fargo, North Dakota.  I worked in Billings, Montana prior to here.  I still play clarinet too. 🙂

Recently, I covered a story and a high school teacher accused me of being unethical in my reporting.  Again, I’ll pass on addressing that.  However, I will address the story.

A special education teacher was caught on Twitter mocking her disabled students on what she thought was a private Twitter account.  We were sent 20 pages worth of her tweets and for timing, we had to choose just a few. She did not respond to my question about her tweets.  After the story aired, it received several hits online and below are just a few of the responses I received about it.

“I grew up in Sidney, MT with Sheridan Tihista (formerly Sheridan Pope). This is a girl who competed in the Miss Montana pageant with a platform supporting autism awareness. She has an older sister with autism. Throughout the years, I watched Sheridan be COMPLETELY AWFUL to her poor sister quite frequently. She is a mean, terrible person. She was that way to most everyone.

During the sorority bullying ordeal, there was a different side to it. My wife knows some of the girls in the sorority. Apparently what happened is she was terrible to these girls, who in turn decided they did not want to associate with her at all.

I have been waiting for this to blow up in her face for a long time. Thank you for covering it and exposing her for who she truly is.”

“I have a friend who was bullied by her pretty good. I will speak with her and give her your information. ”

“This is my kid’s case manager at Liberty. I have been telling the principal all year that Tihista seemed overwhelmed and disconnected from my kid. My gut was right.”

But yes, the high school teacher can continue to complain about my reporting.  Maybe he will be inspired to write more blog posts about the reporting in this TV market from his Ivory Tower.

Anyway, you have a great day and enjoy some of my ramblings from my 4th year of college.  I believe changing, deleting, or editing any of the posts is dishonest, so I won’t.

 

 

About Cornelius

I'm a reporter/anchor for the NBC/CBS affiliate in Fargo, North Dakota. I was out in Billings, Montana for two years before I ended up in the Red River Valley. I'm from Kentucky. I'm passionate about music. I hope my posts offer a little more insight into who I am as a person, not just the pretty face your mom, or dad, turns to on the weekends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

